AFTER MCGIRT?

THE SOVEREIGNTY SYMPOSIUM XXXIII October 11-12, 2021

October 11-12, 2021 Skirvin Hotel Oklahoma City, Oklahoma



Jim VanDeman Urbana Neil Chapman Photography

The Sovereignty Symposium was established to provide a forum in which ideas concerning common legal issues could be exchanged in a scholarly, non-adversarial environment. The Supreme Court espouses no view on any of the issues, and the positions taken by the participants are not endorsed by the Supreme Court.

MondayMorning

4 CLE/CJE credits / 0 Ethics included 8:00 - 8:30 Complimentary Coffee 10:30 - 10:45 Morning Break 12:00 - 1:00 Lunch Provided in Grand Ballroom

8:30 - 12:00 PANELA: CRIMINAL LAW

(THIS PANEL CONTINUES FROM 3:00-6:00)

WELCOME:

RICHARD DARBY, Chief Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court

CO-MODERATORS:

DANA KUEHN, (Choctaw), Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court

ARVO MIKKANEN, (Kiowa/Comanche), Assistant United States Attorney and Tribal Liaison,

Western District of Oklahoma

DAVID HILL, Principal Chief of the Muscogee Nation

BILL ANOATUBBY, Governor of the Chickasaw Nation

GARY BATTON, Chief of the Choctaw Nation

CHUCK HOSKIN, JR., Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation

LEWIS J. JOHNSON, Chief of the Seminole Nation

BREAK

CASEY ROSS, (Cherokee), Director, American Indian Law & Sovereignty Cneter, Clinical Professor of Law, University General Counsel, Oklahoma City University

MITHUN MANSINGHANI, Oklahoma Solicitor General

STEPHEN GREETHAM, Senior Counsel to the Chickasaw Nation

SARA HILL, Attorney General of the Cherokee Nation

ORVIL LOGE, Special Judge for the Fifteenth District, Muskogee County

12:00 - 1:00 LUNCH PROVIDED IN GRAND BALLROOM

Monday Afternoon

4 CLE/CJE credits / 0 Ethics included 2:45 - 3:00 Afternoon Tea Break

1:00 - 2:45 OPENING CEREMONY AND KEYNOTE ADDRESS

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION OF KEYNOTE SPEAKERS:

Grand Ballrooms A-F RICHARD DARBY, Chief Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court

HARVEY PRATT, (Chevenne/Arapaho), Peace Chief, Artist, Designer of the Smithsonian's National Native American Veterans Memorial

BOB L. BLACKBURN, Executive Director, Oklahoma History Center, Retired, Author

TOM COLE, United States Congressman for the Fourth District of Oklahoma

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS, YVONNE KAUGER, Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court Assisted by KENNETH JOHNSON, (Muscogee/Seminole), Jeweler, Designer, Metalsmith

PRESENTATION OF WRITING COMPETITION WINNERS: KYLE SHIFFLETT, Staff Attorney,

Oklahoma Supreme Court

PANEL A: CRIMINAL LAW (A CONTINUATION OF THE MORNING PANEL) 3:00 - 6:00

CO-MODERERATORS:

DANA KUEHN, (Chactaw), Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court

ARVO MIKKANEN, (Kiowa/Comanche), Assistant United States Attorney and Tribal Liaison,

Western District of Oklahoma

RYAN LEONARD, Edinger, Leonard & Blakely, Special Counsel to Governor Kevin Stitt

JONODEV CHAUDHURI, (Muscogee), Quarles & Brady, Amabassador, Muscogee Nation

TRENT SHORES, Gable Gotwals

ROBERT HENRY, President Emeritus, Oklahoma City University, Retired Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit

JARI ASKINS, Administrative Director of the Courts

CHRISTOPHER B. CHANEY, Senior Counsel for Law Enforcement and Information Sharing, Office of Tribal Justice,

United States Department of Justice

Tuesday Morning

4.0 CLE/CJE credits / 2 Ethics included 8:00 - 8:30 Complimentary Coffee 10:30 - 10:45 Morning Break 12:00 - 1:30 Lunch Provided in Grand Ballroom

8:30 - 12:00 PANEL A: INTERTWINED ECONOMIC FUTURES

CO-MODERATORS:

RICHARD DARBY, Chief Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court JAMES C. COLLARD, Director of Planning and Economic Development, Citizen Potawatomi Nation

JOHN "ROCKY" BARRETT, Tribal Chairman, Citizen Potawatomi Nation REGGIE WASSANA, Governor, Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma MELOYDE BLANCETT, Oklahoma House of Representatives, District 78 DEBORAH DOTSON, President, Delaware Nation TIM GATZ, Oklahoma Secretary of Transportation GEOFFREY STANDING BEAR, Principal Chief, Osage Nation BILL G. LANCE, JR., Secretary of Commerce, Chickasaw Nation DANA MURPHY, Commissioner, Oklahoma Corporation Commission

8:30 - 12:00 PANEL B: JUVENILE LAW AND CHILDREN'S ISSUES

CO-MODERATORS:

Grand Ballroom A-C

NOMA GURICH, Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court
MIKE WARREN, Associate District Judge, Harmon County, Oklahoma

KATHRYN E. FORT, Director of Indian Law Clinic, Academic Specialist, Michigan State University ELIZABETH BROWN, Associate District Judge, Adair County, Oklahoma CHRISSI NIMMO, (Cherokee) Deputy General Counsel, Cherokee Nation PHIL LUJAN, (Kiowa/Taos Pueblo), Judge of the Seminole and Citizen Potawatomi Nations MICHAEL FLANAGAN, Associate District Judge, Cotton County

10:00 - 12:00 PANEL C: ETHICS AND A DISCUSSION OF THE CONCERNS OF STATE, FEDERAL, AND TRIBAL JUDGES

JOHN REIF, Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court (Retired)

12:00 - 1:00 LUNCH PROVIDED IN GRAND BALLROOM

Tuesday Afternoon

4.5 CLE/CJE credits / 0 Ethics included 3:30 - 3:45 Afternoon Break

1:30 - 5:30 PANEL A: JUVENILE LAW

CO-MODERATORS:

NOMA GURICH, Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court

MIKE WARREN, Associate District Judge, Harmon County, Oklahoma

Sooms 1

BEN BROWN, General Counsel, Oklahoma Office of Juvenile Affairs

ELIZABETH BROWN, (Cherokee), Associate District Judge, Adair County, Oklahoma

DEBRA GEE, (*Navajo*), Chief Counsel, Office of Tribal Justice Administration, Chickasaw Nation **PATTI D. BUHL**, Director of Juvenile Justice, Office of the Attorney General, Cherokee Nation

CORY C. ORTEGA, Assistant Prosecuting Attorney, Choctaw Nation Legal Department, Special Assistant

United States Attorney (SAUSA) for the Eastern District of Oklahoma

1:30 - 5:30 PANEL B: INTERTWINED ECONOMIC FUTURES (A CONTINUATION OF THE MORNING PANEL)

CO-MODERATORS:

RICHARD DARBY, Chief Justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court

JAMES C. COLLARD, Director of Planning and Economic Development, Citizen Potawatomi Nation

LESLIE OSBORN, Oklahoma State Labor Commissioner

RACHEL MCCORMICK, Canadian Consul General, Dallas, Texas

MICHAEL D. DAVIS, President and CEO, Oklahoma Finance Authorities

NATHAN HART, (Cheyenne), Executive Director, Department of Business, Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes

LATASHIA REDHOUSE, (Dine), AIF Director, Intertribal Agriculture Council

TOMIE PETERSON, (Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe), AIF Assistant Director, Intertribal Agriculture Council

VALERIE DEVOL, Devol and Associates

WAYNE GARNONS-WILLIAMS, Principal Director at Indigenous Sovereign Trade Consultancy Ltd.

BRAD MORSE, Professor of Law, Thompson Rivers University and TePiringa-University of Waikato, New Zealand

